Santos F.C.

Women's World Cup

A Brief History

The Women's World Cup inaugural tournament began in 1991 in China.  The first tournament was won by the United States, beating Norway 2-1.  Sweden hosted the 1995 tournament with Norway beating Germany in the final.  In 1999, the United States won the World Cup in dramatic fashion, beating China in the now iconic penalty shootout at the Rose Bowl Stadium, to this day it is the most watched women's sporting event of all time.  

The 2003 World Cup was hosted again by the United States and won by Germany.  The 2007 tournament was held in China and Germany became back to back champions, tying the United States for the most titles at two.  

The 2011 World Cup was hosted by Germany and won by Japan in a tense 2-2 game that ended on penalties.  

The tournament is now made up of 24 teams, previously being 16, and before that 12 during the 1991 and 1995 tournaments.  After the 2011 tournament, interest in the United States has grown to new heights in the Women's game.


The 2015 World Cup will be held in Canada on all channels on Fox starting June 6 and ending in Vancouver on June 5.



99'ers Documentary

Dare To Dream Documentary

2011 World Cup

2007 World Cup

1999 World Cup