Santos F.C.


La Liga

The top league in Spain, La Liga has two of the top teams in the world in Barcelona FC and Real Madrid.  Atheltico Madrid, Sevilla, Valencia, and Real Sociadad as other top teams in the Spanish division.  

Founded in 1929, La Liga has quickly become the league with the most trophies in Europe.  You can watch La Liga currently on BeIN Sports Network.  Here for more information on La Liga.

Barclays English Premier League

The Barclays Premier League is the top league in England and the oldest league in the world.  It began in 1888 as The Football League until 1992 when the top 22 teams split away to form what is now the Premier League with a set 20 teams competing home and away over the course of a 38 game season.  In the league, a win = 3 points, a tie= 1 point and a loss no points.  The team with the most points at the end of the season wins the league.

The Football League became the second divison and three of tiers of leagues followed creating a promotion and relegation system where the top four team are entered into the UEFA Champions League and the three bottom teams are relegated down to the second division.  The Premier League can be watched on NBC and NBC Sports.  The BPL is known for the some of the most famous clubs in the world including: Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City.  Click here for more information on the Barclays Premier League.


The Bundesliga is the first division of the German soccer league and was founded in 1963 as a formal league with 18 teams and the lowest two being relegated.  It has the highest attendance record of all the leagues in the world.  The most famous and prominent teams of the league are Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Mönchengladbach and Hamburger SV.  

The league is ranked 3rd in the top leagues in the world.  Click here for more information on the Bundesliga


Serie A

Serie A is the first division of Italian Soccer founded in 1898.  The most famous clubs in the Serie A are Juventus, A.C. Milan, Inter Milan and Roma.  The top teams in the league play in the UEFA Champions League and the bottom teams are relegated to the Serie B, the second division.  It is ranked 4th in the world which is determined based on performance in the Champions League and the Europe League.  

Serie A has hosted some of the very best players to ever play the game including the Brazilian Ronaldo, Zidane, Pirlo, Baggio, Cannavaro, KaKa, and many others. Click here for more information on Serie A.


Major League Soccer (MLS)

Major League Soccer began in 1996 as part of it's hosting the World Cup in 1994.  The season runs from March to October with each team playing 34 games.  The top teams in the Eastern Conference and Western Coference play in a post-season playoff that runs from late October to the beginning of December.  

The teams compete in the U.S. Open Cup which is played with all the tiers of Soccer in America.  The top team at the table in the regular season wins the Supporter Shield, and the champion of the MLS season is crowned at the final of the playoffs in the MLS Cup.

The major teams of MLS are LA Galaxy, Seattle Sounders, and the New York Red Bulls.  However, many of these teams have undergone rebrands and a changing of idenity, Columbus Crew SC is the most recent of these.  Columbus Crew SC was a founding member of MLS and has the first soccer-specific stadium in America.  Click here for more information on MLS.

Crew Stadium has also become known as the unofficial home of the US Men's National Team, hosting the biggest match of the World Cup cycle, the famous USA vs Mexico in 2001, 2005, 2009, and 2013, all winning 2-0 (dos-a-cero).  MLS has steadily grown since 1996 and is the most accesible league in America.